• Athena Award

  • The Athena Award was invented in 1982 in Lansing, Michigan, to recognize outstanding business and professional women in the community and to create leadership opportunities for women. Over twenty years later, the program continues to honor those who help foster the potential of all women as valued members of and leaders of the community.

    The Athena Award is co-sponsored by the Ocean Community Chamber Foundation and First Financial Advisory Services, Inc./Geraldine B. Cunningham Associates.     

    Award Criteria

    Women and men are eligible to be nominated. Nominees will be judged on their ability to meet each of the following specified criteria:

    • The nominee actively assists women in realizing their full leadership potential. This can be in the form of mentoring, providing employment or education opportunities, or any other demonstration of investment in the welfare, professional or otherwise, of women.
    • The nominee demonstrates excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession.
    • The nominee provides valuable service by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community.
    • Nominee must work and/or live in Westerly, Charlestown, Richmond, Hopkinton, Wyoming, Wood River Junction, RI, and/or Stonington/Pawcatuck, CT.
    • Nominee must not have been nominated in the past 5 years for this award.
  • Cunningham-Assoc.-Logo.jpg
  • OCC-Foundation-logo.jpg
  • Past Honorees


  • Julie Holland 2022

    Susette Tibus 2021

    Angela Smith 2019

    Tricia Cunningham 2018

    Joyce Olson-Resnikoff 2017

    Marcie Brensilver 2016

    Jeanie Herzog 2016

    Linda Wilkinson 2015 

    Sandy Maniscalco 2014
    Sandy Maniscalco

  • Diana Serra 2013
    Diana Serra

    Lydia Teixeira 2013
     Lydia Teixeira

    Marta Parsons 2012

    Deb Nigrelli 2011       
    Deb Nigrelli

    Mary Ellen Buckley 2010
    Mary Ellen Buckley

    Gloria Smith Russell 2009
    Gloria Smith Russell

    Dawn Smith 2008
    Dawn Smith

    Jeannette Misuraca 2007
    Jeannette Misuraca

    Sandy Niles 2006
    Sandy Niles

    Rogean Makowski 2005
    Rogean Makowski

    Donna Kirby-Reynolds 2004
    Donna Kirby-Reynolds

    Barbara Stillman 2003
    Barbara Stillman

  • Chamber Champions 2023

  • Diamond Sponsor:

  • Platinum Sponsors: