• Athena Award

  • The Athena Award was invented in 1982 in Lansing, Michigan, to recognize outstanding business and professional women in the community and to create leadership opportunities for women. Over twenty years later, the program continues to honor those who help foster the potential of all women as valued members of and leaders of the community.

    Award Criteria
    Women and men are eligible to be nominated. Nominees will be judged on their ability to meet each of the following specified criteria:

    • The nominee actively assists women in realizing their full leadership potential. This can be in the form of mentoring, providing employment or education opportunities, or any other demonstration of investment in the welfare, professional or otherwise, of women.
    • The nominee demonstrates excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession.
    • The nominee provides valuable service by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community.
    • Nominee must work and/or live in Westerly, Charlestown, Richmond, Hopkinton, Wyoming, Wood River Junction, RI, and/or Stonington/Pawcatuck, CT.
    • Nominee must not have been nominated in the past 5 years for this award.



          Joyce Olson-Resnikoff 2017
    Marcie Brensilver 2016 Jeannie Herzog 2016

    Linda Wilkinson
    2015    Sandy Maniscalco 2014 Sandy Maniscalco
    Diana Serra 2013 Diana Serra Lydia Teixeira 2013  Lydia Teixeira
    Marta Parsons       2012           Deb Nigrelli 2011         Deb Nigrelli
    Gloria Smith Russell 2009 Gloria Smith Russell
    Jeannette Misuraca 2007 Jeannette Misuraca
    Rogean Makowski 2005 Rogean Makowski
    Barbara Stillman 2003 Barbara Stillman
    Mary Ellen Buckley 2010 Mary Ellen Buckley
    Dawn Smith 2008 Dawn Smith
    Sandy Niles 2006 Sandy Niles
    Donna Kirby-Reynolds 2004 Donna Kirby-Reynolds