• Community Service / Citizen of the Year Award

  • The award was established in 1957 to recognize outstanding leadership and exceptional contributions to the community. Criteria considered in the selection process includes leadership role in the community, specific contributions in business and civic / non-profit organizations, promoting the community image, improving the quality of life in our area, personal and professional characteristics including integrity, creativity, communication skills and broad social perspectives. Every year, nominations are reviewed and recipients are selected by a Chamber committee.

  • 1957 Julian T. Crandall
    1958 Minnie Boumenot
    1959 Clifford E. Smith
    1960 Sallie E. Coy
    1961 Helen R. Lovett
    1962 Mary Wilcox Vars
    1963 Ross A. Aiello
    1964 Mrs. A. Cottrell, Jr.
    1965 Donald Friend
    1966 Thomas Perry
    1967 Francis Parkinson
    1968 Frank Olean
    1969 Edwin X. Greene
    1970 Lewis R. Greene
    1971 Karl G. Stillman
    1972 Joseph Sicilian
    1973 Mabelle Burbine
    1974 Claudio A. Comolli
    1975 Anne H. Utter
    1976 Joseph Lewiss
    1977 Carl J. Manfred, Sr.
    1977 Paul Munsell
    1978 Alcino G. Almeida
    1978 Jean G. Ladd
    1978 Robert A. Wilcox
    1979 William Atherton
    1979 Francis C. Lathrop, Sr.
    1980 Pasquale E. Sposato
    1981 Eloise Saunders
    1982 Nicholas A. Vuono
    1983 Henry J. Nardone  
    1984 Walter O'Donnell  
    1985 no award  
    1986 Joseph Cugini Joe Cugini
    1987 Farquhar Smith  
    1988 John Fusaro  
    1989 Joseph Bottone  
    1990 Donald Allison  
    1990 Virginia Allison  
    1991 George E. Kent  George Kent
    1992 Mary Jo Orsinger  Mary Jo
    1993 Everett L. Perrin  
    1994 Joseph J. Kirby Joe Kirby
    1995 Raymond F. Cherenzia Raymond F. Cherenzia
    1995 Norman R. Langerstrom
    1995 Edward P. Morrone
     Ed Morrone
    1995 Kenneth J. Parker Ken Parker
    1996 Mary Lou Serra
     Mary Lou Serra
    1997 Isacc G. Smith, Jr.
     Isaac G SMith
    1998 Raymond J. Quinlan
    1999 Senator Dennis L. Algiere Dennis L. Algiere
    2000 Larry J. Hirsch Larry Hirsch
    2001 Paul D. Lynch  
    2002 Eugenia & Dr. Douglas Rayner 
    2003 Joseph H. Potter Joseph H. Potter
    2004 Frank & Donna Celico Frank & Donna Celico
    2005 Pamela Crandall  
    2006 Harvey Perry Harvey Perry
    2007 Ed Smith Ed Smith
    2008 Michael Rauh Michael Rauh
    2009 Katherine Hoxsie Katherine Hoxsie
    2010 Richard Holliday Richard Holliday
    2011 Grant Simmons III Grant Simmons
    Angela Smith Angela Smith
    Rob Valenti, Jr. Rob Valenti
    2014 Nicholas Stahl Nick Stahl
    2015 John 'Whit' Davis  Whit Davis